

6 December 2024



Thank you for your request of 11 November 2024 to Kāinga Ora – Homes and Communities under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act) for the following information:

- 1. The number of approvals for a First Home Loan quarterly for the September 2024 quarter, broken down by Territorial Local Authority (TLA).
- 2. The number of settlements for a First Home Loan quarterly for the September 2024 quarter, broken down by Territorial Local Authority (TLA).

Effectively, I am seeking the first home loan data broken down on the same basis as the First Home Grants were broken down by in the "Home Ownership (Financial) Products Quarterly Report".

I would ask that the data provided in response to this OIA be provided in an unlocked Excel file please.

I am releasing in full to you the attached Microsoft Excel Spreadsheet with the requested information.

Please note that Kāinga Ora proactively releases its responses to official information requests where possible. Our response to your request may be published at https://kaingaora.govt.nz/publications/official-information-requests/, with your personal information removed.

Nāku noa, nā

Lachelkelly

Rachel Kelly

**Manager Government Services** 

## **Released under the Official Information Act**

## **Approvals by Territorial Local Authority - First Home Loan**

Approvals	Quarter
	Jul - Sep 2024
Far North District	6
Whangarei District	26
Kaipara District	1
Auckland City Thames-Coromandel District	253 5
Hauraki District	10
Waikato District	24
Matamata-Piako District	8
Hamilton City	115
Waipa District	10
Otorohanga District	1
South Waikato District	12
Waitomo District	3
Taupo District	17
Western Bay Of Plenty District	4
Tauranga City	54
Rotorua District	39
Whakatane District	11
Kawerau District	1
Opotiki District	2
Gisborne District	10
Wairoa District	5
Hastings District	34
Napier City	21
Central Hawkes Bay District	3
New Plymouth District	25
Stratford District	6
South Taranaki District	8
Ruapehu District	2
Whanganui District	21
Rangitikei District	2
Manawatu District	13
Palmerston North District	41
Tararua District	5
Horowhenua District	20
Kapiti Coast District	11
Porirua City	6
Upper Hutt City	14 33
Lower Hutt City Wellington City	55
Masterton District	7
Carterton District	2
South Wairarapa District	5
Tasman District	7
Nelson City	38
Marlborough District	18
Kaikoura District	0
Buller District	2
Grey District	3
Westland District	3
Hurunui District	4
Waimakariri District	14
Christchurch City	306
Selwyn District	14
Ashburton District	15
Timaru District	31
MacKenzie District	3
Waimate District	1
Waitaki District	6
Central Otago District	8
Queenstown Lakes District	6
Dunedin City	68
Clutha District	8

Total	1670
Chatham Island District	0
Invercargill City	134
Gore District	24
Southland District	6

## **Released under the Official Information Act**

## **Settlements by Territorial Local Authority - First Home Loan**

0.40	Quarter
Settlements	Jul - Sep 2024
Far North District	4
Whangarei District	11
Kaipara District	2
Auckland City	166
Thames-Coromandel District	0
Hauraki District	8
Waikato District	16
Matamata-Piako District	2
Hamilton City	65
Waipa District	10
Otorohanga District	0
South Waikato District	4
Waitomo District	4
Taupo District	7
Western Bay Of Plenty District	8
Tauranga City	20
Rotorua District	21
Whakatane District	3
Kawerau District	1
Opotiki District	2
Gisborne District	6
Wairoa District	2
Hastings District	22
Napier City	17
Central Hawkes Bay District	5
New Plymouth District	14
Stratford District	2
South Taranaki District	6
Ruapehu District	0
Whanganui District	14
Rangitikei District	2
Manawatu District	6
Palmerston North District	22
Tararua District	2
Horowhenua District	10
Kapiti Coast District	6
Porirua City	4
Upper Hutt City	12
Lower Hutt City	26
Wellington City	12

Masterton District	6
Carterton District	2
South Wairarapa District	2
Tasman District	3
Nelson City	18
Marlborough District	6
Kaikoura District	0
Buller District	0
Grey District	0
Westland District	1
Hurunui District	2
Waimakariri District	16
Christchurch City	123
Selwyn District	12
Ashburton District	9
Timaru District	11
MacKenzie District	2
Waimate District	2
Waitaki District	4
Central Otago District	1
Queenstown Lakes District	2
Dunedin City	26
Clutha District	4
Southland District	2
Gore District	1
Invercargill City	23
Chatham Island District	0
Total	822